I have a magnet on my fridge that asks this very question in bold, fun, colorful type.

So I have to look at it every day — it’s a personal challenge sort of thing.

Most days I semi-ignore it, but when I’m on my game, I use it as a TOOL. 

It forces me to ask the next question: “What do I want to do that I keep putting off?” 

And then… “What Am I Waiting For?” — anyway?  

It took me 4 years to start my consulting business.  Way too long. 

What held me back?  Lots of stuff. 

Not enough time, bad timing, too many other things on my plate, not being sure where to start, being afraid of failure, being worried it wouldn’t work out, having to clean out my closet, wash my hair, wash the dogs, etc, etc.

Then one day a woman walked into my life and said something really, really rude to me. 

I couldn’t believe she had the nerve.

I casually let it slip that my dream career was consulting with accomplished people who wanted more happiness and fulfillment in their lives– and that I wasn’t doing it – and guess what she said to me?

She said, “Wow.  You have the passion and ability to help people this way, and you’re not doing it???  You’re being really, REALLY selfish!”

Me: “WHAT??!!!”

I mean, come on.  Me?  Selfish?  I don’t think so.   

I had good reasons for not following my calling.  I was just being prudent, taking care of business; keeping my head above water… doing what was expected…. I definitely was NOT being selfish.

But SHE KNEW BETTER.  And, most importantly, she had the guts to say it to my face.

It bugged me for days.  It really pissed me off! 

But I KNEW she was right.  And after I got over being “bent out of shape” and “hurt”,  I got over myself and started my business.

I stopped “waiting” for nothing.

I now try to exercise this challenge on a daily basis, thanks to her.  I use it to check in with myself to see if I’m “doing it again”.

So, now I’ll ask you:  What are YOU waiting for? 

Or, better put: what meaningful, life affirming experience are you denying yourself in your life?

You’re not going to live forever.  So you might want to stop being selfish and just figure it out already.

PS: Thank you Robin!

